Gilgal Gazette Monday

Campfire

Malkiel A., Age 15

Tribe of Dan

Campfire is part of Camp gilgal tradition. It’s when everyone gets together at the top of the hill where you can see the setting sun, not too bar from the cabins. One of the staff builds the fire and we all sit down on benches around the fire.

At campfire we listen to Blewish lead a discussion and open our hearts to Jesus. This year, the discussions were about our communities, the love that parents offer to us, the love that God has for us, and the love we give them both. Finally we talked about having faith. At the end, we sometimes look at the sunset and remember that God created the nature.

These discussion affected me by showing me how much our parents love us and what they do to be friends with us.

Basketball

Noah L., Age 13

Tribe of Naphtali

This year, one of my favorite activities was basketball. I had a great time! I played basketball on Tuesday and Saturday. The counselors on Tuesday were Swank and Diamond. On Friday, it was Scooter and Diamond.

On Tuesday, basketball wasn’t easy because there were like thirty people and the floor was really difficult to run on because it was a weird type of hardwood. Diamond’s team won two straight games. Swank’s team only won one game.

Saturday was completely different. We played outside, Scooter and Diamond were there and there were only about ten people. There was only one game, but it was very intense and well-played. The loading scorers were Colton with four points and me with twelve.

In my opinion ball-handling is the hardest part, but the best part of basketball. It enables me to look amazing while breaking the ankles of my opponent! (What I mean is, I dribble around their ankles so that they get distracted and trip).

Basketball at Camp Gilgal is always something to look forward to. I love playing on a team and working together.

Comment